Clicky

• Welcome to P2P Lending / NFT Lending Forum.

ETH.LOAN

News:

This was the original Lend Academy peer-to-peer lending forum, since forensically restored by deBanked and now reintroduced to eth.loan.

To restore access to your user account, email [email protected]. We apologize for errors you may experience during the recovery.

Main Menu
NEW LOANS:   | 804.eth 2.500 Ξ | remoraid.eth 0.299 Ξ | remoraid.eth 0.299 Ξ | ALL

LC going out of business

Started by Peter, April 08, 2017, 11:00:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JohnnyP

Does anybody fear LC going out of business? I have been investing since 2011 and really like LC for many reasons. However, I fear there is a decent chance they will not be around in 4-5 years. Every year there is a new competitor. The Renaud Leplanche announcement is just the latest announcement. Note that Leplanche will not be using Peer-to-Peer. He likely knows more about marketplace lending than anybody on the planet and he decided not to go Peer-to-Peer. There is probably a reason for it. My opinion - it probably is not efficient. Then there is Marcus - same thing.

Today's situation of lower returns is just a blip caused by low underwriting standards (by LC and everybody else) and competition. Throw in a couple more significant variables like a tanked economy, over-regulation, and/or another breach of trust and some companies will not make it.

Maybe I would feel better if I had more faith in the unproven/questionable bankruptcy vehicle. I heard the institutional investors have some sort of upgraded "bankruptcy vehicle". If the guys that really know what is going on demand an "upgrade" what is wrong with what we have?

Does anybody else have these fears? Somebody validate my irrational fears or make them go away. What do you think? Does anybody cut back their investment allocation based on these fears?

storm