Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie here, looking to be pointed in the right direction

Hi everyone! I'm new here, and I'm new to being a business owner. I've worked in the alternative financing world for the last few years, and I've gotten to be pretty good on the phones.

Recently, after a number of events at the brokerage I worked at, I decided to leave and do it on my own. I believe I can do it better than they did - they were sloppy and not-responsive, sometimes taking 3 weeks to get an answer from underwriting. Naturally, at that point, the potential client would have been funded by someone else.

This turned my 1.2 million dollars in applications to 180k in funding in the last month I was there.

I know there is more to running a successful business than being good on the phone - but I don't know what, exactly. That's why I'm here.

I understand that many of you reading this may have a vested interest in pointing me one way or the other - what I'm here to ask is that those of you who have been in the industry long enough to know better steer me the right way. Where do I buy leads? What lenders should I avoid? How can I generate inbound? I have a ton of questions, but these three are the most important right now - I'm usually pretty good at figuring things out as I go, which is the reason I started this in the first place. Specifically those first two are pretty significant in the stage I'm at though, and I want to make sure I choose the right direction before diving in.

There is so much to take in, and everywhere I look everyone contradicts each other - I don't know what to believe because I don't know what content is paid for and what is genuine good advice. I dont have a huge budget, which means that I can't really experiment with a ton of different options - I have to pick one and hope it works out, to finance the next round of purchasing, expanding, hiring, etcetera.